Introduction to the watercolor miniature painting

Hello!

Since some time I was considering to start another blog. You can find me daily blogging Tiny Spring project, and in few other places (all links I will add at the end of this post).

This blog is a supplement and won’t be written daily.

To start properly I would love to present my tools. I really have only few of them, I would like to buy few other stuff in future, but first I need to learn little more about brands, quality and my needs. For now I’m working with this set below:

kasia_haldas_tools1

For my miniatures I use this Terschelling paper – it’s glad surface and works the best for small size. I have been trying other papers e.g. Hahnenmuehle, other Cansons etc. but their beautiful textures doesn’t work with tiny details – it’s very hard to work on them and stay precise. I don’t like this Folia paper – it’s very bad for erasing pencil strokes and also doesn’t like to work too long with paints and water (texture starts to be ruffled and this doesn’t look well). Montval is great for bigger formats of illustrations.kasia_haldas_tools2

Few gadgets connected to the water. Container on the left atomizer is helpful if I need to make paper wet fast or keep it wet without using brush (to not destroy colors). Two little plastic and glass containers are always with clean water (I put there only clean brush, for very bright tones and final strokes with white gouache. Cap belongs to the big plastic container, which is very practical (it keeps water close and save – sometimes I can be awkward and this can be tragic…) I also like to hold it full of water, because I work with illustrations and concepts daily and often I use paints for them. So whenever I need it I have it right on place.
And finally open air set – two little containers with good caps, two sponges – soft and hard, pencils sharpener with little container and plastic little washable pallet. I take with me other plastic elements of this picture, so that’s it!

kasia_haldas_tools3Paints: upper left corner – Talens watercolors (smaller) and 6 bigger from Karmansky. Another 5 Karmansky watercolors are in transparent container, where is also dry white gouache. Upper right corner – Daler & Rowney basic bigger set of watercolors (quite good for concept works). Bottom right corner – this is a big question mark: those paints are a gift from my friend from Sweden, and they are from person who didn’t need them any more. They are very interesting and vivid, but also little glutinous and I use them for final touches and overpainting. They are quite good to mix them with other watercolors, which I have, on separate surface, but it’s impossible to paint on them with normal watercolors – the surface of painting is changing because of the consistence of this paints (I have found them on ebay, those are watercolors, however company doesn’t exist any more – I have been googling it; forgot the name :P).
And my little plates, I like to work with white / bright plates, where I can good see colors.

kasia_haldas_tools4Tools – from the left: eraser in pencil (Factis), paper knife (Olfa), watercolor and multi-use brushes, pencil H (Staedtler), watercolor pencil (2B) (Kooh-i-Noor) and the brush with water container (Pentel). All of them is mounted on the artistic eraser – this clay-structure thing, great thing, probably anyone who ever drawn something know it (Faber-Castel). Those are my favorite and I use them daily. I have few more, but only use them sometimes. From practice those are my day by day used tools, and also those, which quality is quite good and I can tell they are worth to buy and if anything happens, I will buy them again.

And that’s all. I hope it explains a little.

Regards,
Kasia

My social media profiles:
Instagram
Google+
Twitter
Tumblr

2 thoughts on “Introduction to the watercolor miniature painting

Leave a Reply

